So… I Was Informed Last Night That The Only Time I Ramblel Is When I’m Ill…

…And I Suppose I Can Agree With That.

I Do Tend To Ramble And Prattle-On When I Don’t Feel Great.

Sue Me.

My Bad.

BUT…

…Today Came Rather Early, My Peeps.

I Was Up And At ‘Em Before 3AM’ish.

I HATE Being Awake Whilst The World Sleeps.

Makes Me Feel Odd.

Makes Me Feel Like A Failure At Just One More Thing In Life.

Can’t Do Anything Else Right…

…So Why Should My Sleep/Wake-Cycle Be An Different.

I Remember Working “The Night Shift” While In The Navy.

I LOVED IT!

Of Course, My Hours Were Longer Than Everyone Else’s.

They All Worked 0700 To 1900 (7AM To 7PM).

I…

…Along With My Elder Namesake….

…Worked 1800 To 0900 (6PM To 9AM).

Talk About A Bummer Of  A Deal…

…Yet We Were Very VERY Willing To Work The Extra Hours.

You See…

…”The Night Shift” Had One Amazing Quality…

…NO SUPERVISORS.

NO BOSSES Standing Over My Shoulder…

…Criticizing Each And Every Thing I Did.

NO BOSSES To Tell Me What To Do…

…When To Do It…

…How To Do It…

…Etc Etc.

It Was Peaceful.

It Was Painless.

It Was Worth The 15-Hour Shifts.

Who Cares How Long You Work Whilst At Sea?!

EXACTLY, Mr Peeps!

Who Gives A Shit!?!

You Can’t Go Anywhere.

You’re Surrounded By The Sea…

…Or The Ocean…

…Or Wherever We Were At The Time.

I Had To Be There One-Hour Before Everyone Else Got Off Work So I Could Get The “Turn-Over” From My Fellow Journalist Shipmates.

And Then I Couldn’t Leave Until 9AM Because Of “Happy Hour” Which Meant We Had To Clean The Ship For An Hour Each Morning.

I Got Yelled-At Many A Time For Ducking-Out Early And Going To Bed.

No…

…I Was Not A Model Sailor.

I Was A Helluva Journalist…

…Just Not A Sailor.

I Think I’ve Discussed That Before, So I Won’t Go Into It.

I Just Remember Being Told And Told Over And Over Again…

Brad, You Do A Great Job At This And That, But You’re Not Being A Team-Player, Nor Are You Fulfilling Your Duties As A Sailor On-Board This Ship. Straighten-Up, Fly Right, Or Get Burned.

Or Something To That Effect.

And Boy Oh Boy Did They Ever Burn Me!

((hahahaahaha))

Oh, Memories.

Why Must You Be So Vivid?!

Sheesh.

😐

This Is Turning Into A Ramble, Isn’t It?!

SEE!!

I Knew It Would.

I Could Ramble For Days-On-End About The Navy And My Experiences.

Slowly, But Surely, They All Come Back To Me.

They Float To The Surface, So To Speak.

In The End, I Came To Hate Hate HATE My Time In The Navy.

And That’s Sad To Me.

I LOVED The Navy.

I LOVED My Peers And Especially My Friends.

It Was My “Superiors” That Were Intolerable.

Little People Trying To Fill Big Shoes, Ya Know?!

People Whom Were Only In-Charged Because Of Their Time And Rank.

Had They Not Hated Me So Much…

…Honestly…

…I’d Likely Still Be In The Navy.

I Could Have Handled Anything Thrown At Me Had I Had Bosses Whom Were Worth A Shit.

But They Weren’t.

So I’m Not.

Plain And Simple.

ANYWAY…

…I Shall End This Ramble, Here.

Y’all Take Care, Please.

And Be Good When Possible.

I Know…

…It Ain’t Easy.

Hell…

…What In Life Ever Is?

Exactly, My Peeps, Exactly.

Have A Damned Decent Day, Kiddies.

I’m Going To Try Doing The Same.

PEACE, Y’all!!!

😀       😀       😀

4 responses to “So… I Was Informed Last Night That The Only Time I Ramblel Is When I’m Ill…

  1. That’s a pretty cool ship photo. That stinks you had crappy supervisors since you still say you actually liked being in the Navy. I have alot of respect for people who serve/have served. My Dad was Air Force (he rarely, if ever, spoke about it)

    Like

    • Thank You. I Took The Photo. I Was Dabbling In Photo-Journalism At The Time.
      It’s A Photo I Loved, But Never Got To Use In Any Of The Pieces I’d Written.
      So It Gets Relegated To The Blog. 🙂
      I Like It A Lot hehehe Always Have!
      And I Miss The Navy.
      It Was All I Ever Wanted To Do.
      I Was Planning To Be A Career Man.
      Put In My 20yrs And Go From There.
      But Because Of The Horrid People I Worked For, I Didn’t Even Last 4yrs. 😦
      Such Is Life, I Suppose.

      Like

  2. Hi Brad,

    Your post comes at an interesting time. I go on Graveyard shift tonight, 2300 – 0700 in this case. I, too, love the fact that there are no supervisors but I hate the hours. I just pretend that I am in another time zone, 8 hours ahead like somewhere east of CA, let’s say western Europe.

    Here’s to the Wee Hours,
    Allan

    Like

    • May The Wee Hours Treat You Well, Sir.
      They May Suck, But The Bonus They Deliver Is Priceless.
      So It’s A Total “Pick Your Battle” Type Situation.
      In The End…
      …I’d Always Take Bad Hours To Rid Me Of The Other BS hahahaha

      Like

Jive With Me!